42 bards currently on the site, last update on Thursday June 23rd, 2016
October 23rd, 2014 -

Track by track of the new album!

Rockhard unveils today a track by track of the album with the details of each of the 11 songs. We know that The Red Door and Pax Discordia are working titles for the new album but nothing is final yet.

Let's start by Ninth Wave:

  • Over 9 minutes long
  • Pure bombast in the beginning
  • Power drumming, massive riffs, sci-fi sound effects
  • Many twists music-wise
  • Somehow between "Mad Max" and "Pirates Of The Caribbean"
  • Good as Blind Guardian can be

Next the single, Twilight Of The Gods:

  • Complex drum patterns
  • Thrashy
  • Compact song with anthem like chorus


  • Mid tempo
  • Tricky grooves
  • Great solo

At The Edge Of Time:

  • Most innovative song of the album
  • Soundtrack-like with orchestra
  • Pace varies often
  • Hyper bombast chorus
  • Like a mini-opera
  • Could maybe appetizer for the upcoming orchestral album

Ashes Of Eternity:

  • Catchiest song
  • Thrash metal riffs
  • Good combination of old and new style

Distant Memories:

  • Again cinematic soundtrack with orchestra
  • More light-footed
  • Great storytelling by Hansi
  • Dynamic and dramatic sounding

 Holy Grail:

  • Pure speed metal
  • Hansi is mostly fast shouting
  • Bombast chorus

The Throne:

  • Mid tempo
  • Orchestra meets metal again
  • Epic

Sacred Mind:

  • Sci-fi sounds in the beginning
  • Sounds like power ballad in the beginning
  • Uptempo later in the song with a lot of high speed eruptions
  • Like Queen could sound today

Miracle Machine:

  • Ballad
  • With strings and piano
  • Hansi singing is great

Grand Parade:

  • Again a long song
  • With orchestra
  • More warm and harmonic sounding
  • Hyper bombast chorus
  • Complex song but very well composed

We also learn that Ninth Wave was the last song finished, two choirs (USA and Hungary) were involved with a total 180-200 people were performing the super bombastic choirs, orchestra was recorded in Prague and Hungary and the group has worked tirelessly over these last years.

- News Archives -

The comments for "Track by track of the new album!" are closed.

The last 5 news of the site:

Hellfest show filmed! (June 23rd, 2016)
Blind Guardian's Hellfest concert which happened last weekend was filmed for the TV, it's almost one hour of show that you can see here: http://concert.arte.tv/fr/blind-guardian-au-hellfestHere's the tracklist:The Ninth WaveThe Script For My RequiemTime Stands Still (At The Iron Hill)Tanelorn (...)
A live and the orchestral project for 2017 (February 27th, 2016)
Almost 20 years ... It's the time who Blind Guardian take to write his orchestral project ! Since the beginning of Nightfall In Middle-Earth, the project exist and has never been abandoned but is seems 2017 will be THE year for this album.In a recent interview, Hansi says:We still are working on (...)
The Dwarves (September 23rd, 2015)
Blind Guardian will be part of "The Dwarves"! The videogame based on the bestseller by Markus Heitz will feature a quest involving Blind Guardian and parts of the soundtrack will be performed by members of the band.Markus Heitz is known by the fans of the band for being the man who inspired Blind (...)
North American tour announced! (May 06th, 2015)
Long awaited by americans Blind Guardian fans, it's official now, it's of course the North American tour of the band!With no less than 24 dates at this time, 5 in Canada, the band will travel across US roads with at his sides the members of Grave Digger !Find all Blind Guardian tour dates (...)
Q/A with Blind Guardian (March 02nd, 2015)
This Thursday 5 March, you can again ask some questions to the band members, like it was possible a month ago on Reddit. This time, it's more simple: you just have to check the Facebook page of the band at this location: http://www.facebook.com/blindguardian. It will start at 8PM CET.Recently, (...)